Soul Choices . . . Huh?

Okay, so Death can and, in fact, is (I think) our biggest teacher, be it “literal” physical “death” or the small and not so small “deaths” we experience in our lives.

At the very least, death, for me, has become the absolute best analogy for, reason to get on with and validation of . . . living our lives.

Our only responsibility is to our Soul.

Here’s what I mean:

We don’t have to die just to avoid saying no to somebody!!!  It’s true~I really think some of us would rather die (and possibly even choose to do so) than say no!

If we were here only for the purpose of “always being there for somebody else” (whatever that even means), then nobody would ever die.  Think about it.  The simple fact that we die really frees up space for anything and everything to be possible.  I mean, surely, if I die today in a car accident, I am not going to be able to make the PTA meeting this evening.  Why not Live today on a road trip and miss the PTA meeting for that reason instead?!!!

Okay, so some would say, “Well you have a choice where the road trip’s concerned, but dying wasn’t your fault . . . you had no choice.”

Really?

Who’s doing the choosing here?

I think we’ve come to a place in time where our challenge (read “opportunity”) is to make “Soul Choices” while still living, breathing and walking this Earth.  It is as valid a choice to choose to Live as it is to choose to die, literally and metaphorically speaking.  It is as valid a choice to choose Freedom as it is to choose suffering.

Hmmm . . . I’m not sure if I’m really conveying what I wish to convey here.  Allow me to try an example:

I had committed myself to driving my friend and apartment-mate to and from our old hometown in a few weeks.  In the meantime, the opportunity of a lifetime presented itself to me~one that I knew I wanted and needed to accept.  Saying yes to this opportunity will prevent me from providing transportation for my friend, at least in the way we originally planned.  Initially, when I was sharing with my friend about the opportunity, I had forgotten about my committment.  She brought it to my attention soon enough.  We both knew right away that, if things were meant to work out for me and this new opportunity, another option would present itself to her.  Still, we ended up having a very interesting conversation around what occurred for each of  us (we playfully called our conversation “The Most Amazing Bible Study Ever” as Life “Lessons” are worthy of a few Hallelujah’s for sure!!!).

Anyway, she admitted that, while she is thrilled for me, a part of her fleetingly felt like, “What about me?”  And we discussed various examples of how we have experienced feeling that way (on both “sides” of the issue, actually) in our lives.  I shared how there have been times where I have felt very happy for someone and yet disappointed for myself if their opportunity meant a closed door for me . . . and how, now, I choose to live more from a place of, “Well, then something ‘better’ is in store for me.”  Too, if I Love you, really Love you, with Big Love, unconditionally (the only “Real” Love), then I want for you what you want for you.  That is, I want for you what Life wants for you, what your Soul wants for you~even if I think it’s not what’s “best” for you, even if it is affecting my life in what I might perceive to be a “negative” way.  This doesn’t mean I won’t share with you what I think I’m seeing or what I’m feeling . . . it simply means I still allow you the Freedom of your choice.  This is all true for my friend as well~we share this newfound view of Life (which can probably more accurately be called “an awareness of how things really are”).  Still, as an example and a really good depiction of what we were discussing,  I expressed to her and she agreed that other plans presenting themselves to me (ones that I wanted to follow) is really no different than if I were to say to her, “Sorry for dying in a car accident today and ruining your plans.”

So often these days, I find myself responding to myself and to others when faced with a dilemma of some sort, “If that were true, then people wouldn’t die.”  Arguing with what is is like arguing with death after it has already shown up . . . why argue with it?  It’s there!  And I really think that sums it up . . . because we die, anything is possible!

And that’s the Good News!

We are THAT Free even and especially, in some ways, when we are Alive!!!

All we can do is choose from a place of Pure Intentions and then allow the pieces to fall (or Rise) where they may for everyone involved (including ourselves).  It is possible to make a choice that is “acceptable” to others from a place of impure intentions and to make a choice that is “unacceptable” to others from a place of Pure Intentions.  It’s the Purity of the Intentions that really  matter, not the choice itself.

Soul Choices . . . A-haaaaaa!!!

What THIS is About 

Your Soul—

Your Endless, Boundless, Eternal Soul.

 

That’s what THIS is about.

 

It changes things, doesn’t it,

knowing This?

 

Suddenly, you are not focused

on preventing and avoiding death—

that which is a hopeless feat anyway.

 

Instead, you choose to live in the Present Moment,

the endless cycle of Death and Rebirth,

the Now,

and you breathe.

 

Soul choices are different—

they come without the madness,

without the what-if’s,

without the worry and control;

there may be some of this at first,

but, ultimately,

Soul decisions feel light;

they’re made up of trust, spontaneity.

 

They lead you to the next stop

on your Eternal Journey.

 

You recognize them when they come—

even if you deny them, stall them, suppress them—

still, you know them—

these benevolent promptings from your Soul.

 

Give them a chance;

try them out;

play with them.

 

Your small yeses will become

your larger Yes,

your Destiny,

the Reason You Came—

 

What THIS is About.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Amy Adams is a poet/writer who wishes to serve Humanity and the Cosmos by authentically expressing what it has come to mean to her to be Divinely Human.  Her initial inspiration came from what she calls a “tried and true ‘Dark Night of the Soul’ experience.”  Insights, poems and writings continue to pour through her to this day, and she will write as long as writing is what’s in front of her.  In addition to writing, she enjoys dancing, singing, walking, reading, nature, conversations, playing . . .

Joy has become her guide, and it is her intention to allow Joy to Be contagious, sharing It with everyone she meets through her unique gifts and, ultimately, her Life lived.

“Humaira” is a name that was gifted to her at the time the writings began.  Amy has come to know Humaira as a very clear and wise aspect of her Being, one who is not censored, but who lives naturally, simply and from a place of Aliveness.  When Amy aligns with the “Humaira energy,” a co-creative synergy seems to occur, and it is magical, beyond even the words.

 

Amy Adams/Humaira

amy1111adams@gmail.com

 

Look for Amy’s first book, coming in August 2012:

“Book of Love:  Poems to Light Your Way Home”

 

Follow Amy/Humaira @:

Twitter

@amy1111adams

and

Blog (The Dancing Pen)

https://humairaamyadams1111.wordpress.com/

 

Amy is a regular contributor to the online magazine

lightworkersworld.com

 

Also:

Amy is available for poetry readings, phone sessions and playshops/workshops , all related to Coming Home to Who We Are and Shining our Light to the world and beyond!

 

 

Leave a Reply

